This is good bye and so long….

A week ago I received an email from Carlo T. quote:” Today, after a lot of time, got on your blog again and found that there has been no new post in a long time. I hope that all is well with you and would recommend that you post (for the last time) a goodbye to all the people that have been reading your stories: I’m sure there are many out there that would be happy to know that you are doing well.”

This is a fair request and it never occurred to me that I may have left some of my readers hanging. So I quickly pick up from where we left off in 2012 when I just started the new work chapter of Finance and Operations Consultant. As it turns out I joined the company at the right time and a number of opportunities opened up for which my professional background was well suited. I got the area director position within the first 9 months and later became Vice President.

We are a successful small but growing company of currently 65 employees. Although HQ is in San Francisco, the nature of our business allows me to work from LA. I typically travel to SF once a week, sometimes twice and it is easy enough to do. I really count my blessings as I love the people I work with and the job itself.

The quality of life has greatly improved and I still am surprised that I am off on Holidays. After working for 30 some years in restaurant operations that is just a foreign concept, although really welcome.

Health wise I am doing well and the yearly check ins with my cardiologist yield nothing but excellent health. To keep active I go on early morning walks 3 to 4 times a week and typically ride my bike (I still have April) on the weekends. I have not done a century ride in years, and I am not sure that I will ever return to it. I like my 20 to 50 mile rides on the weekends, mostly done riding solo, simply because I can leave when I want and ride as hard or soft as I want to.  This is a bit selfish, but works well for me and something I cherish.

After some tumultuous times between 2008 and 2012 the ship has righted and we are in a good space. Good fortune and health to all!

G

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This is good bye and so long….

  1. Jeff says:

    Glad to hear you’re well. Congrats on the job. Take care and enjoy the ride.

Comments are closed.