Latigo Canyon – a New Year’s ride

Originally I declined to participate in a ride for Monday, January 2nd with my good friend @roadchickie, which was to take place somewhere in Santa Clarita. My mind was elsewhere, but once I realized that everyone was still on a Holiday on Monday and none of my anticipated events would occur, I changed my mind. (yes, men can do that too!)
As it turns out @roadchickie had to bail out of her ride plans, so @M2Tiguy and I connected for a ride up the coast to Latigo Canyon from Santa Monica. You should follow the bail out link above for a good story and an amazing blog banner picture.
 
For those who would like mor info on Latigo, here is a link to a detailed ride description from 2010: Latigo Canyon

at the base of Latigo - let the climbing begin


Funny enough, today’s ride is the exact same ride we did on January 1, a year ago. I sure hope that this year will turn out a lot better than the last despite the same start. The route turned out to be a  good challenge for me. Since I picked up cycling again some 30 days ago, I happily logged a bit over 400 miles. This is more than I rode during the entire 2011 year. Ha, I think that I am off to a good start, but now it is time to get some elevation into the mix.
The Latigo ride is a 54 mile loop for me with 3800 feet of climbing. Most of the elevation gain is the canyon itself, accounting for about 2400 feet over an 8 mile stretch. I did OK  going up and my goal was to stay in the middle ring, which I did. But I knew on the way back (which is mostly downhill or flat, with a handful of good ‘rollers’ thrown in) that I was pretty much running on empty and I was very happy when I reached my front door.
A most disturbing encounter happened on the climb up Latigo. We were about 2/3 up when we came upon a Father/Son duo. My estimate is that the kid was about 8 to 10 years old. Dad was “coaching” the kid up the hill, and please note that the term “coaching” is used in the losest sense possible. Kurt and I could have killed the A-hole.
Picture a young boy, on a sun drenched mountain side in 80+ degrees in biking shorts, no shirt, with a chest cold (by his dad’s admission), gasping for air, dehydrated and his Dad yelling at him: ” Come on junior, put some legs in it, for crying out loud, you are being dropped by these guys!” What a way to get a kid into cycling – some people should not be allowed to have children (I can say that, I don’t have any).
On the flip side of the coin, I chatted with a Canadian rider during the ascent for a while, who is here on vacation. Two strangers in the middle of no-where, connecting through the bond of cycling – a great moment.
I am glad we got to get out riding – it set a good tone for things to come, and hope that you all had equally as much fun.
 

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Garmin Edge 705, scattante, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.