First AHA ride in the bank

Ready to roll

I started to look at my life as BHA and AHA (Before and After Heart Attack). This little entry is an update on the AHA time frame. I saw my cardiologist early last week and was really thrilled with the outcome of the visit. Prior to this first follow up since the coronary angioplasty, I was really just dragging through the day. Everything was an effort, getting out of a chair required to will myself to do so, in short, I had zero energy. I figured it had something to do with the medications I am on, and was hopeful that adjusting one, some or all of them would help.

My cardiology (Dr. Bindra) visit was a good experience. My doctor spent plenty of time with me, without me ever feeling being rushed. He talked me through the surgery while he showed me video of the actually procedure. Pretty wild to see and I had to remind myself a couple of times that this is my heart we are looking at. Anyway, he listened to my recap of the past 14 days and consequently adjusted my drug ‘cocktail’. I could tell within 36 hours of that adjustment a significant improvement. My doc did warn me that as long as I am on Metroprolol there will always be signs of fatigued, but I also know now that this particular drug will likely get dropped within the next 30 days.

I have a stress test scheduled (was told to set aside 3 hours) for Monday, July 26 and then a couple of days later or as soon as the complete results are available, yet another visit with my cardiologist, likely a couple of more adjustments on the meds.

For now my improved energy levels are holding and I was looking forward to today with great anticipation. Of course we talked about me getting back on my bike. I brought him a printout of my Garmin walking stats and said that I feel as I should/could start riding. He said: “sure why not, just keep your HR around 110.” WHAT?? I said: “doc, all due respect…I may as well not get on a bike, 110 is not realistic. How about I keep it in zone 3?” So he looks over the rim of his glasses, studies me for a couple of seconds and then “OK, and then next time we meet bring me a printout of your riding activities.”

So today, without grand fanfare, trumpets, drums and games I suited up, did my usual pre-ride check routine and went onto my first ride. I loved the ride and soaked in every moment. I did pay attention to my Garmin and kept the effort in zone 3, but really enjoyed being able to ride. Being on your bike is such a liberating and empowering feeling. The Garmin ride profile is right here

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Cycling, Exercise, Garmin Edge 705, scattante and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to First AHA ride in the bank

  1. Steve Montalto (Highmountain4) says:

    So cool to come back from our east coast shindig to hear that you’re back on the bike and thrashing the overly conservative limits (I remember the 110 BPM limits all too well – was ecstatic when they finally raised them to 140!). It is so wonderful a feeling to be reconnected to something physical that you love – so good for the body and mind alike.

    Take care and let’s hook up soon!

    Steve

  2. You must have felt incredible back out there today. So good to hear about you getting on the bike again. Clear sailing ahead, my man.

    Darryl

  3. Michael Pratchard says:

    Go get them GT!

  4. Bryan says:

    Congrats on getting back on the bike!

  5. Pingback: Casual cycling fans can stop watching the Tour de France now « BikingInLA

  6. Deborah says:

    Glad to read this and see your improvement. Well done, and congrats for getting back at it. Ride on!

  7. tracywilkins says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome progress as far as I’m concerned. Keep up the good work and be careful to not overdo it.

  8. GT it’s fantastic to hear that you are back riding AHA. Life spins better with two wheels underneath you.

  9. Jeff says:

    GT, Glad to hear you’re back on the bike. All is right with the world!

  10. soozed says:

    That’s awesome! So glad to hear you are back on the bike. Take it easy and savor it for the pure joy of riding.

  11. Oh, GT, soooo thrilled for you!! About that 152bpm, shuuuu, I won’t tell…
    You’re on your way to a full recovery. I’m sure you’ll have more energy with that “adjusted” cocktail. Must be hard to keep your hr low but must also feel awesome to turn the legs and feel the wind in your face. That’s what I miss the most when I can’t ride.
    Now that you can ride a little, everything is gonna be better!
    Youpiiii!
    Mari-joXX

  12. Yea ! Way to go GT ! I know the feeling of taking meds that make you feel like crap and not knowing if you’ll ever be able to ride again. Its a glorious day when you can get back in the saddle because it gives you hope for another day. How wonderful life is when your in the world expecialy when your on a bike. 🙂

    Plochman

  13. sevencyclist says:

    110? It’s hard for me to get down to that level. But glad to see you back on the road again. Kudos to you for getting back out there.

  14. MErider says:

    OMG! I am so excited you are back on your bike! I would have joined you, GT! Save time for me next weekend and I’ll come ride with you in Zone 3. Hell, your Zone 3 is my zone 6 😉 Seriously, I am truly thrilled to hear this news. It will just keep getting better and you stronger.
    – “That which does not kill us, makes us stronger…” (or something like that)

Comments are closed.