Never ending views

Today’s ride was spontaneous and as it turned out, one that will stay with me for a long time. It was one of those very rare days in Los Angeles County when you literally can see for miles and miles. To take advantage of those views you have to get high, no, not that kind of high. Saddle Peak in the Santa Monica mountains sounded like the perfect destination, so I geared up and off I went. If you are interested in the route, you can see it on my Garmin page.

My only regret today is that I did not bring my camera, and although the images taken with the iPhone are OK, they don’t do nearly justice to the views. So, here we go – just click on the images to see the bigger picture:

Topanga

Topanga Canyon - let the climb begin

The next 8 miles bring some 3000 feet elevation gain – so worth it!

the hillside was ablaze with these colors

I don’t remember a day when I looked back and could see across the Santa Monica Bay all the way to Palos Verdes, some 45 miles away

View across the bay towards Palos Verdes

and turning a bit inland, you can see Century City, Down Town Los Angeles and in the far distance the San Gabriel mountain range, about 65 miles away

looking across the LA county basin

and after a fun and fast downhill – back at the beach

Pacific Ocean near Malibu

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never ending views

  1. jeff says:

    Pretty good pics for a phone. great day for a ride!

Comments are closed.