Not a typical day (in a good way)

If you like cycling, hiking and dogs – you will like this post. It is mostly a visual journey of a magical morning ‘mountain’ walk, with Shep. By mountain I refer to the fire road which starts at the end of the canyon I live in. Today I was reminded of how much fun I had with my MTB before I gave it away (yeah, I know, one of those stupid impulse decisions).

Anyway, Shep and I hit the trail by 6 am and it was truly a glorious morning, driving trough dense marine layer, breaking through and looking down at a sea of fog. If you like you can see all 57 images here, because I only posted a handful below. So, take a little journey with me and click on an image if you want to see the full resolution.

I love it up here

I love it up here

so many trails - I've got to get me another MTB

so many trails - I've got to get me another MTB

official sunrise

official sunrise

this fire road connects with Mountain Gate which intersects with old Mulholland

this fire road connects with Mountain Gate which intersects with old Mulholland

Shep absolutely loves it up here

Shep absolutely loves it up here

nope, this is not San Francisco

nope, this is not San Francisco

I love these vibrant colors

I love these vibrant colors

On the way back, Shep ran into some company

On the way back, Shep ran into some company

riding and hiking paradise

riding and hiking paradise

We hiked to what I call the ‘second water tower’, which sits just above the Mountain Gate community. From there you can see Sepulveda Pass and the 405 Freeway snaking up and over from the valley. It was a good 1 1/2 hour hike and Shep had a ball when we ran into the dog walker with her 10 dogs. He just loves other dogs and after chatting with her for a while I learned that she is up there almost every day. I think I will make it up there at least a couple of times a week now, good for me and Shep.

Later on I got on April and did hill repeats on Sepulveda, three times up and over for a total of 41 miles and 4300 vertical feet. Now, my legs are jelly, and I am glad to be out of the saddle and in a comfy chair blogging.

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Exercise, Life, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not a typical day (in a good way)

  1. gtinla says:

    MErider – #1 = no, #2 = searching CL for deals, #3 = thanks
    Jeff – are you selling your MTB? 😉
    Jeff Bean – thanks for the vote of confidence, but even with Pros and Paves, I wouldn’t be able to get up some of those inclines with April’s gearing

  2. jeff bean says:

    Lovely stuff, GT. Those trails, btw, look pretty smooth. Maybe toss some Open Pros and Paves on April and do some “cross”?

  3. jeff says:

    I like cycling, hiking, and dogs. And if I lived where I could ride and photograph a place like that, I would get my mountain bike out more often!

  4. 331miles says:

    Love the photos…looks like a great trail.

  5. MErider says:

    Number one – I want Shep. Number two – ha ha! Now, you’ll just have to buy another mtn bike so you can come play with me and others (yippee!). And number 3 – gorgeous shots, GT. 🙂

Comments are closed.