Shimano WH-R600 wheel problem is over

Well almost – I get to pick up my wheels around 7:30 tonight. As you might know my wheel problems have been going on for weeks now, actually just shy of 2 months.

WH-R600

WH-R600

The problem in short is that the front and rear cones of the hub body are no longer perfectly round, thus creating friction and an uneven roll. It also puts a lot of stress on the bearings. I visited the store early in the afternoon to catch the store manager and to get an update. He informed me that Shimano still shows all parts on backorder until the end of July!! – WHAT???

However, he suggested that they would take out cones from a new set in the store to rebuild mine, and I found that solution acceptable. I brought in my wheels and I can pick them up later this evening. I feel a whole lot better and can’t wait to finally ride again without worries about my wheels. It made me nervous, especially on steep or long downhill sections, don’t know why, but it did.

A group of friends are riding Mt. Baldy tomorrow morning, but I won’t be able to make that because of house guests I have to babysit. Hopefully I will get at least a short ride in to test it all out.

Barring any surprises I plan to ride the Yerba Buena Canyon loop on Saturday very early morning (roll time 6:30). I really enjoyed this 80 mile loop the last time, as it comes with some good (5600 feet) climbing to break up the miles. A full ride report for this route is in this article.

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Repair, scattante. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shimano WH-R600 wheel problem is over

  1. jeff says:

    A nice 80 mile loop sounds like a good way to spend the 4th of July! I hope to get at least a short ride in Saturday morning. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. 331miles says:

    Don’t you hate having an unknown problem? Glad it’s getting fixed for you!

Comments are closed.