Conejo Century Ride – May 9, 2009

The locals call it ‘Cruisin the Conejo’ and for me this will mark my 3rd Century. From the looks of it, it also will be my most difficult one.

I am a bit apprehensive because today was the first day back in the saddle for a 25 mile ride since April 22nd. First I tweaked my knee working around the house building a new staircase from the garage to the kitchen and then I ended up with a really bad cold. So it was not until today that I felt strong enough to get out and ride. (Garmin Ride data). Overall, not too bad, 1 hour 30 minutes for 25 miles, but the ride was on pretty flat terrain.

Conejo Century Ride description:

This ride takes you through the Conejo Valley communities of Thousand Oaks, Westlake Village, Oak Park, and Agoura Hills. The challenge starts midway through Agoura as you make the famous Rock Store climb up Mulholland into the Santa Monica Mountains. There are breathtaking views that are certainly worth the stop as you catch your breath. After riding through the Santa Monica Mountains you will descend into the rich farm lands of Camarillo in the Oxnard Plain, returning to the Conejo Valley through the communities of Moorpark and Simi Valley. The ride measures 102.8 miles and a full 6000 ft of climbing. A challenge for the serious century rider. 103 mile Full Century

Without doubt, my legs will be challenged and given the amount of climbing I will probably take 7 hours to finish. The weather forecast is great, blue skies, high 60’s (another day in paradise). I am going to get a 30 mile ride in tomorrow, a 50 miles on Thursday, take Friday off and hopefully will feel good on Saturday morning for the 6:30 am start. I have to drive about 50 minutes to get there, therefor wake-up will be at 3 am to have time for a good breakfast and then head on out.

A quick shout out to my friend Leah Falls (@leahfalls on Twitter), she will run her first half marathon on May 9 to help raise funds for stroke research. She raised $1600.00 and has her biggest challenge yet ahead of her – way to go!!

Twitter Button from twitbuttons.com

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Century, Cycling, Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conejo Century Ride – May 9, 2009

  1. Pingback: Century ride check list « GT in Los Angeles

Comments are closed.