Jeff Bayly – may he rest in peace

jeffojai02-061 Jeff was riding with his good friend Seth on a sunny Sunday, February 1, for what was to be his last ride. After 2 months in a coma induced by a puzzling solo fall, Jeff passed peacefully last night with his loved one at his side.

Jeff was a kind and gentle soul, full of life and laughter and the reason I started cycling. He will be dearly missed. Rest in peace, my friend and we will follow your favorite words: “Hey man, let’s ride!”

Here is a direct link to the accident recap as witnessed by his riding buddy.

About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jeff Bayly – may he rest in peace

  1. gtinla says:

    Stephanie,
    You stated that you are unsure who you are writing to, and I thought I take a moment to clear that up. I was managing Saddle Peak Lodge in Calabasas from 2000 to 2007 and my restaurant was in Jeff’s territory. Jeff would stop in every other week to share his products and over time a strong professional relationship grew into a personal friendship.
    His knowledge about wine was only surpassed by his knowledge about beer – man, he could really get fired up about a good beer! 🙂
    So often we (Chef Warren, Jeff & I) found ourselves sitting on our patio overlooking the Santa Monica mountains, munching on a cheese plate and tasting Jeff’s beverages as an excuse to shoot the breeze and talk about anything but work. Jeff’s stories about great rides with his friends sparked enough interest for me to give it a try and with his guidance I bought my first bike. We always said one day we would ride together but we never did. On May 9 I will ride the ‘Cruisin the Conejo’ Century – for me a silent tribute to your dad’s memory.
    Be well,
    Gerhard

  2. Stephanie Grabow says:

    I would like to introduce myself, my name is Stephanie Grabow and it is easiset to identify myself as Jeff Bayly’s step-daughter. My mother, Barbara, and Jeff have been together for 17 years now and Jeff has been a part of my life for even longer than that. I am unsure who I am writing to, but would like to send a word of thanks for the kind and thoughtful words you have written about Jeff. He is one of the most remarkable people I have ever know and I feel so blessed to have shared my life with him. Jeff delighted in his family and friends and enjoyed sharing that joy with everyone he met. I am happy to hear that he inspired you to ride and hope that it continues to bring you happiness.

    Take care of yourself, be well, and ride often!
    Stephanie Grabow

Comments are closed.