One week after the Solvang Century

Can’t believe it has already been a week since the ride. I did not have any major problems, a bit sore the day after, but a short, easy ride last week on Monday took care of that. One of the important lessons learned in the Solvang Century was the need for more hill training to become a better climber. First thought was to use the canyons of PCH, such as Topenga, Stunt, etc. but then I looked around my neighborhood and I have 3 canyons literally at my door steps. Bundy, Tigertail and Kenter. I figured I check out Bundy first and did 2 quick loops, and as it turns out one loop is right around 5 miles and 610 feet of climbing with some very steep sections. Next week I will test Tigertail and Kenter to see the elevation change, and then I think I will combine the three and call them the Brentwood Triple Crown.

The Solvang Century ride is always held on the 2nd Saturday of March and the 2010 ride is on the 13th. I booked us a room in the heart of Solvang at the Meadowlark Inn. A short 2 miles from the start line, this will be much more convenient than staying a 45 minute car drive away. I also signed up for the Cruisin’ The Canejo Century ride on May 9, 2010.

This ride departs from Thousand Oaks and snakes through the Santa Monica Mountains, then descends into the rich farm lands of Camarillo in the Oxnard Plain and returns to the Conejo Valley through the communities of Moorpark and Simi Valley. The ride measures 102.8 miles and a full 6000 feet of climbing. A challenge for sure, as this represents 1000 feet more than the Solvang ride.

I will spend the next couple of weeks experimenting in my local canyons. I want to make sure I have the right gearing, but have a feeling that I should go to a 12/27 cassette. Time will tell.
About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.