Signed up for my next Century

I am so excited. I signed up for my 2nd Century Ride which will take place in Solvang, CA on March 14, 2009. The journey to get there started almost a year ago in March of 2008 with a visit to my physician for a routine medical checkup. While in the patient wait room I stepped on the scale and just above the scale at eye level was..



I am so excited. I signed up for my 2nd Century Ride which will take place in Solvang, CA on March 14, 2009. The journey to get there started almost a year ago in March of 2008 with a visit to my physician for a routine medical checkup. While in the patient wait room I stepped on the scale and just above the scale at eye level was a BMI (body mass index) chart. Being 5’8″ and at that time weighing in at 196 pounds, that BMI shouted: severely obese!!!

When I left the Doc’s office the ‘severely obese’ stuck with me. Yes, I knew I was overweight before; I could tell by the way my clothes fit (or didn’t) and starting to buy a couple of sizes bigger. It was time to do something about that.
Cycling was/is the obvious choice for me, because it provides a great aerobic workout and affords me the flexibility to ride when I have time. I also like the fact that the workout starts the moment I get onto the bike. No driving to and from a gym and no group sessions needed.
I started out slow with with 6 mile rides and gradually build up to the mid 20’s. Four months into it I could easily ride 30 miles at a 16 mph average and lost 24 pounds. It is then that I learned about Century Rides and as luck would have it there was one in my future. The Amtrak Century Ride is the perfect ride for a Century virgin. The ride is very well organized and has strong support along the route and very well staffed and stocked rest stations along the way. The ride starts in Irvine and ends in San Diego. This ride has been a tradition for 35 years and is organized by the OCR – Orange County Wheelmen – and is probably one of the most popular Southern California rides. However, the most difficult part of this ride is registration. Usually limited to no more than 1400 cyclists the ride sells out very quick once online registration opens. The 2009 ride date is set for September 12 and online registration opens on June 15 at 7 a.m.
There are two options for the ride – with or without Amtrak train return. The option with train return (about 700 spots) usually sell out within the first 20 minutes. Set your alarm, be up early and be ready to hit the keyboard at 7 a.m. sharp.
For me this was the perfect first ride. The ride is 100 miles of flat to rolling terrain with a gentle crosswind or tailwind. The only significant climb is around mile 80 when you need to pedal up from the Ocean to Torre Pines. Needless to say, I am hooked.
Posted by Picasa
About GT in LA

Road cycling enthusiast
This entry was posted in Amtrak, Century, Cycling, Solvang. Bookmark the permalink.